Bihar Election 2020 Voting Live Updates: Lawlessness, extortion losing while development and rule of law winning in Bihar, says PM Modi

Bihar Election 2020 LIVE Updates: Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed a rally in Bihar’s Araria district on Tuesday where he said that the voter enthusiasm in Bihar amid the global pandemic demonstrates deep roots of democracy in India. Urging people to vote for the BJP-JD(U) government, he said that now “lawlessness and extortion are losing while development and rule of law are winning in Bihar.” The Prime Minister will hold another rally in Saharsa. On the other hand, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is also scheduled to address two rallies today.

Voting is underway for the crucial second phase of the Bihar assembly elections in which over 2.85 crore voters are eligible to decide the fate of nearly 1,500 candidates across 94 assembly segments on Tuesday.

Notable among the candidates is RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav, the opposition Grand Alliance’s Chief Ministerial candidate, who is seeking re-election from Raghopur in Vaishali district which he had wrested back for his party from the BJP’s Satish Kumar in 2015. Also in the fray is Tejashwi’s elder brother Tej Pratap Yadav, who after shifting his base from Mahua in Vaishali is trying his luck from Hasanpur in Samastipur district. (Click here to follow our full Bihar election coverage)

The last day of campaigning witnessed hectic canvassing with Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressing four back-to-back rallies in support of NDA candidates. BJP candidates are in the fray in 46 of the seats, while another 43 are being contested by those with JD(U) tickets. Mukesh Sahni-led Vikassheel Insaan Party, the latest entrant in the NDA, is contesting the remaining five.

A voter turnout of 55.69% was recorded in the first phase of Bihar assembly polls held on October 28, the Election Commission said in its provisional data. Polling was held 71 assembly constituencies amid tight security and COVID-19 guidelines in place.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *